Homemade Granola Bars

Published May 12, 2012 by cookinggamer

When I first started dating my boyfriend, he ate a ton of junk food. It made sense at the time to him. He was just 1 dude living with 2 other dudes so take out and chips were the norm to him. If he had a banana that day with his lunch that day it was considered “healthy”. The idea of healthy snacking was him grabbing doritos and salsa because salsa had veggies in it right? When we started living together, I decided it would be a great idea to pack some of these granola bars into his lunch for him so he had a “healthy option”. I mean who doesn’t love chocolate chips right? But everyday when he came home from work, that damn granola bar was the only thing left. One day, I got super fustrated and asked him, “Why do you always eat around the damn granola bar? Aren’t they good?” He then looked at me grabbed the granola bar, opened it and said “You try it then!” So, angrily, I did. Wow… I figured out why he didn’t want to eat it. It was hard and stale. Now I would love to say it’s cause it was sitting in every lunch bag for the pass month so that’s the reasoning, but it was from a new box I just bought the day before hoping a new flavour would change his mind. he then explained to me that because it always tasted like “cardboard” he just figured he won’t eat it. After that, I started researching how to make my own. I went on my very favourite site, the Food Network site and tried out one from there. I still found the recipe too dry. So I decided to make one up. This recipe I am sure someone has made it before I dreamt it up but it is just so nice and moist. They keep a long time and one pan goes quickly at my house.

Now in the recipe I did write down “toppings”. I think this is where you can really create how you want the granola bars to taste or what your dietary needs are. Here is a list of some toppings I love using. Mix and match them to find your perfect blend of toppings!

Chocolate chips (rainbow/plain/mint/peanut butter/ whatever!)

Nuts ( try to find any that are slivered or sliced or chopped, same price less work)

dried fruits (cranberries, raisins, apricots, etc if the fruit is larger like apricots chop them up so it’s not a big chunk when you bite into it)

Shredded coconut

Seeds (pumpkin, flax, sunflower, wheat germs)

Ingredients

4 cups rolled oats

2 cups toppings (1 3/4 cups and 1/4 cup set aside)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup flour

1 cup salted butter/margarine

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 lrg eggs

Preheat oven to 375F. Grease a 13×9 long cake pan.

Melt butter, honey and brown sugar over low flame. Once melted add vanilla and set aside.

Toss together oats, flour, 2 3/4 cups toppings and cinnamon. Slowly add in butter mixture mixing with your hands until mixture is sticking together in clumps. Add eggs one at a time mixing thoroughly before adding the next.

Press mixture into cake pan. Sprinkle remaining toppings on top and bake for 30-40 minutes.

Let bars cool for 2 hours before cutting. They do then to break apart easily because they are so moist so be careful with them.

I usually cut them up and wrap them in plastic and keep them at room temperature. Like I said they do go fast in my house and the guys that my bf works with love them too so sometimes I surprise them with that! I love them for late night snacks especially with a nice glass of milk. Can’t get my keyboard dirty with these! 😀

Leave a Reply

